Tina Fey Rips Todd Akin

Actress Tina Fey blasted Rep. Todd Akin at Center for Reproductive Rights gala in New York on Wednesday, reports E! Online.

“Todd Akin claims that women can’t really get pregnant from a legitimate rape because the body secretes hormones,” Fey said. “Now I can’t even finish this sentence without getting dumber; it’s making me dumber when I say it — but it’s something about the body not being able to get pregnant when it’s under physical stress. Mr. Akin, I think you are confusing the phrase ‘legitimate rape’ with the phrase ‘competitive gymnastics.'”

In August, Akin came under fire for stating “If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down.”

Fey continued, ripping the recent wave of Republican politicians who have made  controversial rape comments.

“If I have to listen to one more gray-faced man with a two-dollar haircut explain to me what rape is, I’m gonna lose my mind,” Fey said. “I watch these guys and I’m, like, ‘What is happening? Am I a secretary on ‘Mad Men’? What’s happening?'”`

Leave a Reply

