Kelly Clarkson: Back On Team Obama

Photo Credit: Jason DeCrow/AP

Although Kelly Clarkson signaled support for Rep. Ron Paul during the Republican primary season, the ‘American Idol’ winner has switched her support to President Obama, she told the Daily Star.

“I’ve been reading online about the debates and I’m probably going to vote for Obama again, even though I’m a Republican at heart,” Clarkson said.

“I can’t support Romney’s policies as I have a lot of gay friends and I don’t think it’s fair they can’t get married,” Clarkson said.

The singer noted the contrast between Obama and Romney on reproductive rights – a hot topic for many female voters.

“I’m not a hardcore feminist but we can’t be going back to the 50s,” Clarkson added.

Clarkson said she admires the president and first lady.

“Obama is a great guy. I’ve met him and I’m a fan of Michelle too,” Clarkson said. “She has been busy promoting better education and healthy diets, which is something we could all use a dose of reality on.”

Leave a Reply

