Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Johnny Van Zant On Team Romney

Right after Mitt Romney was asked to stop using the  Silversun Pickups’ track “Panic Switch” on the campaign trail, he gained an endorsement from Lynyrd Skynyrd front man, Johnny Van Zant, POLITICO reports.

Van Zant said he isn’t a fan of President Obama’s policies.

“His whole platform was change, change. Well, very little has changed I know for the people that are our fans,” Van Zant said. “As far as I’m concerned, I’ve heard the president go we’re asking the rich to take a little bit more in taxes. Well, that’s not asking, that’s telling. I still believe in the trickle-down effect.”

Lynyrd Skynyrd is set to perform at the Republican National Convention at the end of August.

He said the next president needs to restore the country.

“I hope whoever wins come November, whether it be Romney, or [Obama], they put this country back on track,” Van Zant said. “I did not vote for President Obama … now he’s the president of the United States. Whatever happens we have to support him. We have to be good Americans and stand by our president.”

The singer recently got behind Florida Republican Ted Yoho, who upset current Rep. Cliff Stearns in a primary on Tuesday.

The former democrat was inspired by President Ronald Reagan.

“I loved Ronald Reagan,” Van Zant said. “I believed in what he was saying. I believed that he was going to take care of national security and as far as I’m concerned I think he’s one of the greatest presidents we’ve ever had. I hope whoever wins in November does as good a job.”

 

Leave a Reply

