Carrie Underwood Endorses Gay Marriage

Singer Carrie Underwood announced her support for gay marriage in a recent interview with The Independent.

Underwood, who has been speculated as being a closeted conservative in many circles and has a large Christian conservative fan base, told the magazine people shouldn’t be told who they can and cannot marry.

“As a married person myself, I don’t know what it’s like to be told I can’t marry somebody I love, and want to marry,” she said. “I can’t imagine how that must feel. I definitely think we should all have the right to love, and love publicly, the people that we want to love.”

Underwood, who learned how to sing at her Baptist Church, has always indicated her strong belief in Christianity. In a time when same-sex marriage is widely debated among the Christian Church, Underwood said her church was “gay friendly.”

“Above all, God wanted us to love others. It’s not about setting rules, or [saying] ‘everyone has to be like me’. No. We’re all different. That’s what makes us special. We have to love each other and get on with each other. It’s not up to me to judge anybody.”

Leave a Reply

